jumpthegap bathroom design competition now open

The 8th edition of this sustainable and innovative design contest is now open for registration

The eighth edition of the international design competition jumpthegap®, promoted by Roca, was presented on the 10th October at an event held at the Schusev State Museum of Architecture in Moscow (Russia), in which all details of this new edition of the competition were revealed.

Already a global reference, the competition aims to offer a platform where international architecture and design students and professionals under the age of 40 can show their talent by providing conceptual, sustainable and innovative solutions for the bathroom space of the future. Since its first edition in 2004, jumpthegap® has had the collaboration of BCD Barcelona Centre de Disseny, with more than 20,600 participants from 134 countries all over the world in its seven editions.

The jury
Since its first edition, the jury of jumpthegap® has stood out for its relevance, gathering renowned professionals from the field of architecture and design. In this edition, the president of the jury is the acclaimed Brazilian architect Ruy Ohtake. All other members of the jury are prestigious professionals from around the world: Emilio Cabrero (Mexico), director of the Mexico City World Design Capital 2018 and the Design Week in Mexico; Murat Tabanlıoğlu (Turkey), founder of Tabanlıoğlu Architects, professor, lecturer and curator; Dorota Koziara (Poland) designer, artist and curator; Boris Voskoboynikov (Russia), head and chief architect of the studio VOX Architects and prizewinner of Russian and international competitions; Carlo Ratti (Italy), architect, engineer, MIT professor and founding partner of the international design and innovation practice Carlo Ratti Associati; Josep Congost (Spain), Director of the Roca Design Center and Isabel Roig (Spain), General Director of BCD (Barcelona Design Center) and former President of BEDA (Bureau of European Design Associations).

For the We Are Water Foundation award, the members of the jury are: Xavier Torras (Spain), Director of the We Are Water Foundation; Deborah Seward (USA), Director of the United Nations Information Center and Low Cheaw Hwei (Singapore), Head of Design for Philips in Asia and Head of Government and Public Affairs for Philips in Singapore.

Key dates and registrations
The registration period will be open on the official website www.jumpthegap.net until the 27th March 2019. The project submission period will be open until the 25th April. A refinement period opens in May and once all final projects have been received, the jury will make its selection in June. The award ceremony with the finalists from all over the world will take place at the Disseny Hub Museum in Barcelona on the 10th October.

Categories and prizes
The competition awards three prizes: in the Professional and Student category, there is a prize of 10.000€ each; the special We Are Water Foundation sustainability award reaches 6.000€.

Further information: www.jumpthegap.com