BEDA Members Invited Featured

31 May 2011
  • Bookmark and Share


BEDA Members Invited to European Design Leadership Board

At the invitation of European Commission Vice-President Antonio Tajani, (BEDA) President, Deborah Dawton (United Kingdom) and Vice-President Isabel Roig (Spain), attended the first meeting of the newly established European Design Leadership Board which took place in Helsinki on Friday 27 May 2011.

The newly established Board of fifteen members from umbrella organisations, design promotion institutions, leading academics, industrialists and designers will steer the European Design Innovation Initiative (EDII) with the aim to "exploit the full potential of design for innovation and to reinforce the link between design, innovation and competitiveness." The European Design Innovation Initiative is to be launched by Commissioner Tajani as a component of the Innovation Union later this summer.

The Innovation Union, one of seven flagship initiatives of EU's growth strategy: Europe 2020, was launched by the Commission on 6 October 2010 - almost three years to the day following BEDA's Design Manifesto meeting with President José Manuel Barroso, (on 8 October 2007), requesting that the European Commission include design as a key driver in its innovation policy.

BEDA President Dawton says that, "The significance of design in European innovation policy is now established. With 46 organisational members in 23 Member States, BEDA is delighted that its lobbying over the past decade has encouraged the Commission to integrate design as a key driver for Europe's competitiveness and innovation. The policy is now converting to action and BEDA looks forward to playing a full and active role on the European Design Leadership Board as it continues in its task."

Contact BEDA  Koloniënstraat 56, 1000 Brussels (Belgium) t. (+32) 2 217 39 77  f. (+32) 2 217 99 72
CoFunded CEPEU

1_facebook   1_linkedin   1_flickr