European Design Leadership Board chosen Featured

23 June 2011
  • Bookmark and Share


European Design Leadership Board chosen

In line with the commitment taken in the Innovation Union, the European Commission launches in 2011 the European Design Innovation Initiative (EDII) to exploit the full potential of design for innovation.

The goal of the initiative is to:
- raise the awareness of design as a driver of innovation in Europe.
- enhance its role as a key discipline to bring ideas to market transforming them into user-friendly and apealing products, processes or services by enterprises and public services in the EU.

EDII Secretariat is based in Aalto University, Helsinki, Finland.

European Design Leadership Board was be set up to steer the initiative. To ensure the crucial link between design and innovation, the Board is composed of members with diverse backgrounds (i.e. business sector, higher education, designers, national and regional agencies promoting design and innovation).

The Leadership Board, together with the Secretariat of the European Design Innovation Initiative (chosen following the call for tenders) and the European Commission will develop a joint vision, priorities and actions to better integrate design into innovation policy.


BEDA - Bureau of European Design Associations - Deborah Dawton, President
UEAPME – European Association of craft, small and medium-sized enterprises represented by Gerin Trautenberger, Vice-President of Austrian creative Industries - member of UEAPME
TAFTIE – the European Network of Innovation Agencies - represented by Andrea Siodmok, Technology Strategy Board - member of TAFTIE
German Design Council, Andrej Kupetz, Chief Executive Officer
Barcelona Design Center, Isabel Roig, Directora general
Hungarian Design Council, Dr. Miklós Bendzsel, Chairman
Christian Bason, MindLab Copenhagen
Giovanni Antonio Cocco, Managing Director ISNART S.c.p.A, Istituto Nazionale Ricerche Turistiche
Rachel Cooper, Professor of Design management, Chair of Lancaster Institute for the Contemporary Arts and Chair of Imagination Lancaster
Olli-Pekka Kallasvuo, Chairman of the Committee supporting World Design Capital Helsinki 2012; former President and CEO of Nokia Corporation
Stefano Marzano, Chief Creative Director, Philips Design
Klemens Rossnagel, responsible for Design Research Audi Group
Livia Tirone, TIRONE NUNES, Founder of TIRONES NUNES dedicated to designing and promoting "bio-climatic" & "sustainable buildings"
Roberto Verganti, Visiting Professor in Copenhagen Business School, Department of Management, Politics and Philosophy and Professor in Politecnico di Milano
Thierry Wasser, Perfumer, Guerlain

Contact BEDA  Koloniënstraat 56, 1000 Brussels (Belgium) t. (+32) 2 217 39 77  f. (+32) 2 217 99 72
CoFunded CEPEU

1_facebook   1_linkedin   1_flickr